Provincial history and sucession of Priors/Sub-Priors

Provincial Officers

Provincial Priors Bodyguard

Provincial Prior’s Certificate of Service


Toast List – KT

Toast List – KM


Glossary of Offices

GreatPrioryOur governing body, or equivalent to Grand Lodge in the Craft, is known as “The Great Priory of the United Religious, Military and Masonic Orders of the Temple and of St. John of Jerusalem, Palestine, Rhodes and Malta in England and Wales and its Provinces Overseas”. For obvious reasons commonly known as “Great Priory”. At its Annual Meeting in May, Great Priory Officers (both Past & Present) are appointed and Invested by our Most Eminent and Supreme Grand Master.The Great Priory is divided into Provinces headed by a Provincial Prior, appointed by the Most Eminent and Supreme Grand Master. Each Provincial Priory holds an Annual Meeting where Provincial Officers (both Past and Present) are appointed.Each Province, with the exception of the City & County of Bristol, supports a number of Preceptories
(equivalent to a Craft Lodge) where candidates are installed into the Order.The main progressive offices in the Preceptory are shown below together with the similar Craft office in brackets:-

  • Eminent Preceptor (Worshipful Master)
  • 1st Constable (Senior Warden)
  • 2nd Constable (Junior Warden)
  • 1st Herald (Senior Deacon)
  • 2nd Herald (Junior Deacon)
  • 1st Standard Bearer (No equivalent)
  • 2nd Standard Bearer (No equivalent)
  • Captain of Guards (Inner Guard)
  • Arch of Steel (Stewards)